DeLauro wins Steering Committee vote for Appropriations chair

The Hill: Rep. Rosa DeLauro (D-Conn.) is on track to become the next House Appropriations Committee chairwoman after securing the recommendation of an influential panel of her colleagues on Tuesday.

The House Democratic Steering Committee, which makes recommendations for members' committee slots, voted handily in DeLauro's favor over fellow Democratic Reps. Debbie Wasserman Schultz (Fla.) and Marcy Kaptur (Ohio), who also sought the gavel.

Read article